Internationals

Hello, beautiful readers!

Today is a beautiful day! This semester, my last semester of a full schedule of classes, is going to be delightful, yet challenging. I say all of this because of a variety of reasons; first, today IS going to be a beautiful day, second because I made about 30-40 new friends last week, but I will get into that later, third because I’m feeling very good about all of my classes this semester.

Last Thursday, the last Thursday of my last summer as an undergrad, was the introduction of approximately 25 mentors to said international students (mentees) for the first time. 

In the past week, I’ve been spending as much time as I possibly can with my new friends from China, France, Germany and  Brazil among a few other countries. This Friday, my parents have agreed to let me have all of these wonderful people over for a pool party. โ˜บ๏ธ I believe that most of them will be coming, with only the exception of those who do not feel well or those that have plans elsewhere. 

It brings me sheer joy to host a party with my new international friends. ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘™๐Ÿ’œ

I invited all of them over to stay the night, I think my house will have enough room, but I believe some of my friends have decided to go back to their apartments on Friday night and skip breakfast made by my parents. This makes me sad, but oh well. Life shall go on. ๐Ÿ˜ 

My perogative was to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable in my (their foreign) country and state. I truly hope that I have accomplished my mission and all of them feel more than comfortable and more than warm fuzzies when they think of their experience in the United States or America. I hope that they always feel they can come back to my state and pop in for a quick hello. ๐Ÿ™ƒ

As long as most or all of the internationals feel that way, I will be content.

Unfortunately, I am also trying to babysit three times each week and make a littl bit of money in the spare time that I’ve created for myself. Having class only two days each week might prove to be much more challenging than it may seem. I guess only time will tell how difficult this will be. 

I’ve spoken to a few of the ladies about this pool party and how I’m doing at making everyone feel welcomed and appreciated. Apparently, I’m not doing so bad!!! ๐Ÿ™ƒ I’m just stressing out right now because the pool has not been cared for appropriately this summer, so it doesn’t look the most inciting. But, my mother has taken every possible step to assure me that the pool will look great after tonight. ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ‘™๐ŸŽ‰ I’m anxious, but still hopeful and excited to see how this goes. I’m also praying that the pool is able to be whipped into shape. 

Regardless of whether or not the pool looks spectacular, my friends of other nations and of my college are bringing alcohol and music, so . . . We are bound to have loads of fun. โ˜บ๏ธ

I’m getting to the point in my excitement now that I’m just remnbling about nothing in particular, so I’m going to stop now and see how things are with my Momma and her plans to fix up the pool. 

Tout mon cล“ur. ๐Ÿ’œ

~Alexandra Mae

XoXoXo

Leave a comment