2022 is my year!

Hey folks! So far in this year, (I’m writing this post in the end of September) I have found the love of my life (see image below) and found my dream career in marketing! I’m currently just doing an unpaid internship and working as a waitress to cover my bills.

my Bava ❤️

Since Santosh and I got together, my best friend Aja has finally convinced me to train myself (for free, thanks to HubSpot, LinkedIn Learning and RadicalX) in marketing and since I started doing that, I’ve found that I absolutely love it!! I started an internship just last week with the female CEO of a daycare and daycare consulting agency based in North Dakota. I’ve only really worked on a little bit of it so far, but I’m really having fun ideating on what other childcare business owners would find most useful in improving their business structures and policies! I’m pitching ideas for her weekly podcasts and for her Sunday morning coffee time podcast by this Thursday. That’s tomorrow, so I should probably work on it now . . .

Despite the fact that I haven’t worked on it yet, I’m so excited to get going on it and help design some web pages for her podcasts! The internship is just supposed to be for this fall semester, but I’m really hoping that she will hire me as her marketing professional after this fall college semester ends! I’m so hopeful that this is going to lead me to the career of my dreams, and my love, my Santosh, my Bava, makes me so happy with his undying support and love! He drives me crazy half the time, but I do love the Hell out of him! He’s 25 (4 years, 3 months and ten days younger than me), Indian, 6’4″, emotionally intelligent, sweet, funny, kind, is studying for his second engineering Master’s degree (medical systems engineering, the first was in mechanical engineering), and he loves me just as much as I love him.

Santosh (Stephen to his American friends *EXCEPT MEEE!* , I guess) is wonderful and I love him, but my main focus right now is on my budding career, as his focus is on his academics as it should be. He has his priorities straight and so do I. I’m not exactly the most coordinated human on the planet, so he’s worried about me spilling drinks or food all over my customers, but I’m confident that I’ll figure things out pretty quickly. I’m hoping that I get to make decent tips to pay my credit card and at least some of my car off by the time my Bava and I live together. We’ve talked about it several times and he’s hoping for us to mover in together by the time he goes home to visit his family. Of course, I hope for that too, but I’m not sure how I’ll ‘swing it’ financially. It’ll all work out when it’s supposed to work out, I’m sure.

OOH! Also, I’ve lost 30 pounds in the past 2 months!! I’m on track (and hoping) to lose 30-40 more, but I need to continue to feed myself decently and I don’t think I can live off salads once I leave the OptaVia regimen. I LOVEEEE bread, that will, undoubtedly, be my biggest problem. But aside from that, there is really nothing that I can’t live without.

Well, anyway . . .

I need to go work on my internship now! Too-da-loo!!

~Aly Mae

Leave a comment