The Librarian Chapter begins . . .

Hi everyone!

I’m blessed to come to WordPress today with some incredible news!

I GOT A FULL-TIME JOB!!

And it’s not just any job, it’s with AmeriCorps! This incredible opportunity will open my professional opportunities wide-open! After this. 12 month term, I will have the opportunity to work for AmeriCorps for a second term in this location, or I will be offered an educational grant, which I will use for a librarian certification. Also, through this position, the county that I’m working in will also sponsor my certification process.

Honestly, the past year (and some) has been the greatest time of blessings in my life. I have fallen in love with the most incredible man I have ever known (sorry Dad) and now I’m beginning a career in something that I am very passionate about. I have worked in a library before during college and while being a librarian might seem easy, first of all . . . it’s not. Second, it’s even harder when you’re a student with a learning disability. This time I’m going into it with actual ‘real person’ (adult) pay, job security and assistance from the previous AmeriCorps worker.

I’m probably in way over my head and I’m afraid to say this, but “I’m really excited about this job! I really can’t see how I can fail.” *knock on wood* Like I said, I’m probably in over my head, but that’s how I’m seeing it right now.

Well, that’s kind of a lot all in one paragraph. Let me unpack it for you. I kept getting advertisements on Facebook about Facebook Dating, so I clicked the ‘X’ button every time I saw it for it to make it go away. After probably two weeks of clicking the ‘X’, I was like “What the hell? Why not see what kinda fish are out there?” and I created a profile. It took me about a month to find anyone fitting my standards. But, I finally found Stephen. We matched on May 31st in 2022 and despite the rocky road, full of pot-holes and puddles, we’ve made it!

This incredible, God loving man is intimidatingly intelligent – but very humble, handsome as a devil (why do people say this?) and more kind than anyone I’ve ever known. Since I’ve known him, he has graduated from Binghamton University (SUNY) with his second master’s degree, this one in (medical) systems engineering. His first master’s was in mechanical engineering also from SUNY Bing. (see? SO SMART!!)

He’s a few years younger than me and while I could get all ‘extra’ and talk about how little it matters, I’m going to let it go at that. It doesn’t matter.

He is old fashioned and while it drives me absolutely bonkers that he won’t come meet my family until he has a job, I admire him for sticking firm to his convictions and I think my parents do too. They’ve met via FaceTime and they all have eachother’s phone numbers etc. but he won’t come to Pennsylvania to actually meet my family – in person – until he has a job. He also hasn’t told his family about me for that same reason. That might seem like EXTREMELY irregular behavior to my fellow American readers, but I’ve done considerable research and have come to the conclusion that it’s the normal thing to do in Indian dating culture.

I just got this job earlier this month, after him pushing me to get a ‘real person’ job since we met, and now he’s just had a really great interview with an engineering company on Friday morning. The person who interviewed him actually reached out to him yesterday and mentioned how he was eager to see Stephen start there! For future reference, it is now Sunday evening. This month has been a great month for both of us! Hopefully the months just keep getting better and better until we are living together. Then a plateau will be fine for a while.

Having said that, I need to backtrack again just a little bit. I have made the trek to Binghamton a handful of times from central Pennsylvania since we started dating, so we have met and we’ve spent about one weekend a month together (except for a week in December just before he went to India for Christmas and the week of my 30th birthday). He has been a student, just working part time jobs since we met and he still makes it po$$ible for us to spend time together. He was also studying until May of this year! And he still made it possible for us to be together.

That’s only ‘so far’ in the chapter called US. I cant wait to see what’s next in our book!

Back to me . . .my career is FINALLY starting. I’ve had a really hard time finding and keeping a job since college and words honestly cannot express how grateful I am to be working for AmeriCorps AT A LIBRARY!! This is it, people. My ‘real person’ life starts now. This ‘librarian chapter’ is the opening chapter to my book of happiness. Here we go,

All of my love,

~Alexandra Mae

xo xo xo

Leave a comment