ahhhh, what comes next?

Hey folks, I just did something that I never thought was actually coming. I have literally worked for my whole entire life to have the ability to say that I did what I just did.

This might seem ridiculous and perhaps petty to some of you readers out there, but I just applied for graduation from college.

In the past week or so, I have been in contact with a graduate school in New England (USA) for a master’s degree in the art of negotiations (probably in International Commerce or International conflict Management [Diplomacy]). The program supposedly takes between 18 months and 24 months to complete, but I’m sure that even 24 months (two years) is going to be a really difficult timeline for me to manage efficiently. I am often a slow learner and it takes me quite a while to fully comprehend something in my ‘squirrely’ little head. Haha.

Maybe that’s just a funny thing (to be squirrely) in my family. Let me explain; to be ‘squirrely’- is to not pay attention very well and be easily distracted by any variety of things.

Now, I will get to the point of my post. . . . I am terrified.

I have a plan, but I have absolutely no idea where God intends for me to go in my life. I will start with talking about my plan, that might give me some ideas as to where He wants me in life;

I am finishing a degree in French language and cultures this winter, then I am hopefully beginning a master’s degree program in diplomacy. Those will be my starting points. While I am completing my master’s thesis and degree, I will probably work either at a coffee shop in the town of my Dad’s job, or at a laundromat in my hometown. Either way, I will be saving loads of gas by being dropped off by one of my parents (my Dad if I work near his workplace, probably my Mom if I work in my town) and that will make their lives so much easier, saving on gasoline and not having to worry about me behind the wheel.

After I graduate, I intend to continue to live with my family for a little while, this house will always be my home base, then I will be looking to move to Ireland, Switzerland, Belgium, Spain, Germany or France. Maybe living here at home won’t be so rough for me after my degrees are finished. It is definitely better than living away from my family (say my parents) because now they have a better idea of what is going on in my life. Plus, now I can help out around the house much more and relieve my Momma of having to do so much work around the house on top of her full-time job and running my youngest sister around.

Ireland is my first choice, because of my family heritage and because I fell in love with the country when I was last there. . . My heart has not forgotten, and never will. After Ireland, I could see myself working with French speaking colleagues in Switzerland, Belgium, or France and if I am able to learn enough Spanish or German . . those countries are on the table as well. 🙂 I just really have to get better at French before I even attempt to learn any more languages! . . . But, that is extremely difficult to do when all you are constantly surrounded by in your home country is English and there is no way of speaking entirely in French on a regular basis.

So, because I live in an almost strictly English speaking country, I will have to stay in contact with my few French/French speaking friends as I prepare to learn more languages.

After I finish my degree, while I am working at the coffeeshop or laundromat, I will be teaching myself German and Spanish on this wonderful little app called Duolingo. I have about eleven languages loaded into the app that I want to learn. After I have a little money to spare, I intend to purchase a linguistics book and teach myself about linguistics.

Once I have a better understanding of linguistics, it will be much easier for me to learn more languages. I sincerely love languages. I love being able to converse with people from all around the world! I love the cultures of people that speak other languages as well. I love the food of said other cultures. I love food. I love food very much. I love people.

I’m sure that whatever He has in the plans for my life involves food and people. Maybe I will be a café owner in one of those countries. Maybe I will own a restaurant. Maybe my future has something to do with preparing the dinner menus for international banquets for governmental banquets at different kinds of government meetings (summits) in Europe. All that I am truly sure of is that I belong in Europe. Where I end up in Europe depends on a small list of things; the first of which is where I can find a stable job. I’m sure that with degrees in French and international conflict management or international commerce diplomacy, that will be no problem at all, but who knows?! Maybe it will prove to be a problem.

The other thing that my move to Europe depends on is a relationship (marriage) that I am nowhere even close to yet. I will be heavily influenced by my husband on where I want to live. His career might make the decision on what career I end up with.

Of course, I will know a variety of languages, so I will probably be able to tutor for English or perhaps French or another language after I can comprehend linguistics better. Ideally, I will be able to use my degrees and work in a French speaking country (like Switzerland or Belgium) and whoever I marry will also have a job similar to mine in that country.

I have a very slight crush on someone right now that I think would be perfect to end up with, but my crushes are often very unrealistic, and I would much rather just quietly be his friend than ruin everything because of a slight unrealistic crush.

Honestly, I have a crush on just about everyone that I know . . . Maybe I know too many beautiful and incredible young men . . . But with this guy, it’s different. I sincerely enjoy being his buddy, and I would hate to say something that would ruin our friendship. But, sometimes I feel (ever so slightly) that he might be intrigued by me as well. But, I am always imagining things about guys that I’m interested in, so I’m just going to ignore it and let it happen if it happens. I’m sick of ruining friendships because I feel (ever so slightly) that my guy friends are into me. I’m just going to keep my mouth shut here and quietly hope that he feels the same way.

Why do all of my posts always end up being about a young man that I’m interested in? My life is too busy to be worrying about them right now. I just need to finish my degree and move on with my life.

Bonne chance, tout le monde!!

Je t’aime beaucoup!!

~Alexandra Mae

Leave a comment