“Today is a Day”

Hello, everyone!

Today’s the day before Memorial Day, but I still choose to honor veterans, active duty members,  and all other military personnel today. I think that along with recent riots and public outcries, the military personnel and policemen of this great nation have taken a severe hit to their sense of accomplishment and their sense of pride in the work that they do.

I think that what most of these angry people don’t realize is that the a large number of them would probably not be alive if these honorable men and women had not been doing their jobs correctly. I mean, sure there are a few that are corrupt and endangering the career choices of others. That goes with every career and group of people. Most of the police men and women along with the majority of military personnel have good intentions and sincerely want to protect the public.

I don’t personally know any police officers in the area that I live in, but I do have several friends who are in a branch of the armed forces. My Marine friends and even my friends in the Army are very respectful of women, all creeds of other human beings and have a genuine appreciation for life in general. My parents know a State Trooper in Pennsylvania and they have always spoken of him in the highest regard for my whole life.

Personally, I respect police officers, even through all of the tumultuous events involving their career, they have remained true to their honor code, and ‘stuck by the sword’ that is involved with fighting crime and terror in the parts of the nation in which they are assigned to be on watch for.  In fact, I love policemen. They unquestioningly serve. They do not stop and make sure that they will not be hurt, or even killed, before they step out in front of a bullet for a citizen. They think of themselves only after they have done their duty for the day. The men and women in the police forces are owed a great deal of respect from the citizens of our nation. One police officer, a woman, who was recently murdered, was described as an angel. She volunteered in the community countless times and continually served the people of her community day in, and day out. She was killed on the way to pick up her premature baby from the hospital, after she had taken time away from her baby to serve the people of her town. She worked while her baby was being nursed and cared for by doctors and nurses until her baby was ready to go home with her. Her poor little innocent child no longer has a mother to care for her, and will never understand that her mother was one of the best women to wear a vest in the line of duty. (CNN)

My heart aches for her child. My heart aches for the people of her town, which lost their “angelic” police officer.

The quote is from a speech given to “our great nation” on December 7th, in 1941 by Franklin Delano Roosevelt, who just happens to be one of my favorite leaders that this great nation has ever seen. My very favorite POTUS ever was Kennedy, not just because he is the best looking of all of our presidents. He was also a fantastic leader because in the few years he was alive during his presidency, John Franklin Kennedy established the Peace Corps., which I am a humongous fan of. Peace Corps. is like a form of the United Nations in that is focuses on serving the people of less fortunate nations. I have considered joining Peace Corps. on many occasions, because that is the reason that I live!

I live to serve other people in the name of the Lord! ❤ Sincerely, I believe that I was not kept alive only to tell my story and inspire others, rather I was kept alive to do that and to serve others for my King of all nations! Contrary to what my parents may tell you, I think that I am merely alive to improve and/or save the lives of other people. I am finishing my degree, making some money and joining Peace Corps. Who knows, I might even work a missionary trip through a Christian church organization!

All that I am sure of is that I exist to please my Lord, for He (literally) saved my life! ❤ I exist to please Him by pleasing others. As of now, I am only seeking my degree because (according to my Mother) statics have shown that young adults with a degree are more likely to receive a job, with paid benefits (my mothers deepest desire is for all of her four children to get a job with paid benefits) which would please her and it would please me too, but that is secondary to pleasing my Momma. I also seek a degree, to seek a job to provide financial security so that I may volunteer my time and money (hopefully) to those who need it. Once I get my dream job (available to unqualified personnel already) or working online for a publishing company or an environmentally friendly company/organization,  I will probably just work from my parents’ home and gain a nice little bank fund, I guess you could call it, as I work toward physical and mental fitness.

I am pretty physically in shape, I just have some muscles that haven’t ben exercised for too long and a few  brain functions that could be improved upon, but that will all come with time. I’m young, only twenty-two years! 😉 So, I’ve got another 40-60 years left in this little body of mine. Needless to say, I don’t worry too much about the worldly things in this life. I have a better life coming after this one. But, I’m not in a rush to get there!!

I have serving to do down here on Earth first!

So, Today might not be December 7th, but it is a day that I feel needs to be spent serving others, as our men and women in uniform all around the nation and world do on a daily basis. So, until next time, stay safe, save the police officers the disturbance. Oh! Also, serve others!! That is why we all exist, anyway! ❤

My sincere love and admiration,

~Alexandra Mae Mullen

Leave a comment